All Collections
3. Manage your account and menu
How to add dietary tags to your menu
How to add dietary tags to your menu

Learn about different types of dietary requirements and how you can add them to your menu items.

Written by Ash H
Updated over a week ago

Like a label, you can now add dietary information to your menu items, so customers can have more information when ordering from you.

There are two approaches to adding tags:

  • Item-level - For specific items.

  • Menu - For your entire menu.

Here’s a list of the diets you can use, and what they mean:


A food item that contains no animal products and is cooked with no cross-contamination with non-vegan items.

If you can’t guarantee cross-contamination, please note this in the item description.

If you would like to expand your vegan/plant-based offering, please let us know here.

Plant-based (Vegan Friendly)

A food item that is vegan but may have been produced in the same space as non-vegan products, so it may not be suitable for strict vegans/people with allergies.


A food item that doesn’t contain meat or fish, but may contain eggs or dairy.

Dairy Free

Any food item that doesn’t contain dairy products, e.g. milk, cheese, cream, milk powder, etc.

Gluten Free

Any food item that doesn’t contain gluten.

Whilst some people have intolerances, gluten can be fatal for those with Coeliac disease, so it’s important to be clear if there’s a chance you could cross-contaminate. More info here.


This diet is a low carb, high fat diet that puts your body into a metabolic state called ketosis. People may follow this diet for health and/or weight-loss reasons.


This diet promotes eating vegetables, fruit, fish, lean meats and eggs, but excludes refined sugars, grains, vegetable oils, salt and added chemicals. People may follow this diet for health and/or weight-loss reasons.


Halal means ‘permissible’ in Arabic. In the Quran there are many stipulations for what is considered permissible and impermissible for consumption.


  • Meat (Not pork) and only when slaughtered in a manner known as dhabiha.


  • Alcohol

  • Pork and its by-products

Halal is usually followed for religious reasons.

Dietary requirement

Item-level Information(You can update this on Menu Manager or via Menu API)

Menu Tag (If you need this updated please contact our support team or your Account Manager)


For 100% vegan items

Only when your entire menu is 100% vegan

Vegan Friendly / Plant Based


Menus with at least 1 main vegan dish

Vegetarian (Veggie)

For vegetarian items

Menus with at least 1 main vegetarian dish

Gluten Free

For 100% gluten free items

Menus with at least 1 main gluten-free dish

Dairy Free

For 100% dairy free items



Halal-certified items only

Only menus that are 100% Halal, or with at least one Halal-certified main dish


Items that qualify as Paleo

Menus with at least one main Paleo dish


Items that qualify as Keto

Menus with at least one main Keto dish

Dietary FAQs

How many people eat a vegetarian/vegan diet in the UK?

Currently, 14% of British adults (7.2 million) are following a meat-free diet, with a further 8.8 million planning to go meat-free in 2022.

25% of Gen Z (aged 18 to 23) avoid meat already with 30% planning on giving it up (30%) in 2022. (source)

The most popular meat-free diet is vegetarianism with 3.3 million followers.

How many Deliveroo consumers eat a meat-free diet?

August 2021 results indicated that around 31% of Deliveroo users in UK and Ireland follow a vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian or pescatarian diet.

What is a Flexitarian?

The Flexitarian Diet encourages eating mostly plant-based foods while allowing meat and other animal products in moderation.

Halal FAQs

Does my menu need to be 100% Halal or can I sell just a few Halal items?

It’s OK to sell just one or a few Halal items but please ensure that only the right menu items are labelled as ‘Halal’.

Does a Halal item need to be officially certified to be labelled ‘Halal’ on Deliveroo?

Yes, items must be officially certified to be labelled ‘Halal’. The most common authority bodies are HFA and HMC.

Kosher FAQs

Does a restaurant need to be 100% Kosher to sell Kosher items?

No, it’s OK to sell just one or a few Kosher items. However, items must be officially certified.

If you’d like to be deemed fully Kosher, you must receive a Kosher certification licence.

For more information please refer to our Dietary Guide here.

Did this answer your question?